Protection of Civilians

With violence increasing around the globe, the protection of civilians has become a cornerstone of United Nations peacekeeping mandates. The 2016 edition of Protection of Civilians explores the history of POC, its application in current events, and practical options for consideration for those undertaking this task. The course begins by exploring the POC concept and its legal basis in UN peacekeeping operations. Later lessons explore traditional and new threats to civilians, including extremist groups like ISIL/ISIS, sexual violence in armed conflict, and the protection of children. This updated edition incorporates the UN 2015 Policy on the Protection of Civilians in United Nations Peacekeeping and examines missions launched since 2012, including MINUSMA and MINUSCA. Seven lessons.

COURSE AUTHOR: Mr. Julian Harston is a retired Assistant Secretary-General to the United Nations who previously served as the Representative of the Secretary-General in Belgrade, Serbia in 2009, as well as the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for MINURSO, Western Sahara from 2007 to 2009. Currently, Mr. Harston is an independent consultant on matters of international peace and security. He also lectures at the NATO School in Oberammergau, Germany and at the Polish Institute for Diplomacy in Warsaw.

Number of pages: 149 [English] Publisher: Peace Operations Training Institute [07-25-16]

Editeur: Institut de formation aux opérations de paix (POTI) [07-25-16]

Voir ce cours (PDF)

Formats de disponibles

Formation en ligne: GRATUIT

Formation en ligne + texte imprimé: $75.00 USD
(Les frais de livraison ne sont pas inclus.)

Connectez-vous pour vous inscrire.

Notations

4.85 Etoiles

Commentaires soumis: 270

La recrudescence des violences dans le monde fait de la protection des civils une pierre angulaire des mandats de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies. L’édition 2017 de la « Protection des civils » explore l’histoire de cette dernière, son application dans les évènements actuels et les options pratiques à examiner afin d’entreprendre cette tâche. Le cours commence par explorer le concept de protection des civils et sa base juridique dans les opérations de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies. Les leçons suivantes explorent les menaces traditionnelles ainsi que les nouvelles menaces, y compris les groupes extrémistes comme EEIS/ISIL, la violence sexuelle dans les conflits armés et la protection des enfants. Cette édition mise à jour intègre la Politique 2015 sur la protection des civils dans les opérations de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies et examine les missions lancées depuis 2012, y compris la MINUSMA et la MINUSCA. Sept leçons.

AUTEUR DU COURS : M. Julian Harston est un Sous-secrétaire général des Nations Unies à la retraite, ayant précédemment exercé la fonction de Représentant du Secrétaire général à Belgrade, en Serbie, en 2009 ainsi que Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général auprès de la MINURSO, Sahara occidental de 2007 à 2009. Actuellement, M. Harston est un consultant indépendant sur les questions relatives à la paix et la sécurité internationales. Il enseigne également à l’école de l’OTAN d’Oberammergau, en Allemagne et à l’Institut diplomatique polonais à Varsovie, en Pologne.

Nombre de pages: 155 [Français]

Editeur: Institut de formation aux opérations de paix (POTI) [03-10-17]

Voir ce cours (PDF)

Formats de disponibles

Formation en ligne: GRATUIT

Formation en ligne + texte imprimé: $75.00 USD
(Les frais de livraison ne sont pas inclus.)

Connectez-vous pour vous inscrire.

Notations

4.85 Etoiles

Commentaires soumis: 270

Extraits d'images de cours:

Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.

Lire les commentaires de nos étudiants sur les cours qu'ils ont suivis avec nous...

( Page 1 de 54 ) Suivant

5 Etoiles

"good"

Posté Par:

Date de soumission: mar 14 Sep 2021

5 Etoiles

"very interesting course."

Posté Par:

Date de soumission: mar 07 Sep 2021

5 Etoiles

"As a Peacekeeper this course provide the guidelines regarding the Protection of Civilians."

Posté Par:

Date de soumission: sam 04 Sep 2021

3 Etoiles

"Interesting to study"

Posté Par:

Date de soumission: mar 24 Aoû 2021

5 Etoiles

"course brings out the ultimate need of the mission ie to protect civilians highlighting the most important factor of an integrated approach carrying out respective tasks as per the mandate to ensure that credibility & trust in mission is always there amongst the people who are being assured their safety, security and socio economic development."

Posté Par:

Date de soumission: dim 22 Aoû 2021

( Page 1 de 54 ) Suivant

*Les étudiants peuvent soumettre des commentaires après avoir passé un cours au sein de leur salle de classe virtuelle. Les évaluations des étudiants représentent les opinions combinées de la version anglaise et de toutes les versions traduites du cours.

Protection of Civilians

With violence increasing around the globe, the protection of civilians has become a cornerstone of United Nations peacekeeping mandates. The 2016 edition of Protection of Civilians explores the history of POC, its application in current events, and practical options for consideration for those undertaking this task. The course begins by exploring the POC concept and its legal basis in UN peacekeeping operations. Later lessons explore traditional and new threats to civilians, including extremist groups like ISIL/ISIS, sexual violence in armed conflict, and the protection of children. This updated edition incorporates the UN 2015 Policy on the Protection of Civilians in United Nations Peacekeeping and examines missions launched since 2012, including MINUSMA and MINUSCA. Seven lessons.

COURSE AUTHOR: Mr. Julian Harston is a retired Assistant Secretary-General to the United Nations who previously served as the Representative of the Secretary-General in Belgrade, Serbia in 2009, as well as the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for MINURSO, Western Sahara from 2007 to 2009. Currently, Mr. Harston is an independent consultant on matters of international peace and security. He also lectures at the NATO School in Oberammergau, Germany and at the Polish Institute for Diplomacy in Warsaw.

Number of pages: 149 [English] Publisher: Peace Operations Training Institute [07-25-16]

Publisher: Peace Operations Training Institute [07-25-16]

Search inside this course (PDF)

Formats Available

Online Training: $60.00 USD

Online Training + Printed textbook: $75.00 USD
(Shipping costs not included.)

Log in to register.

Ratings

4.86 Stars

Reviews submitted: 218

La recrudescence des violences dans le monde fait de la protection des civils une pierre angulaire des mandats de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies. L’édition 2017 de la « Protection des civils » explore l’histoire de cette dernière, son application dans les évènements actuels et les options pratiques à examiner afin d’entreprendre cette tâche. Le cours commence par explorer le concept de protection des civils et sa base juridique dans les opérations de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies. Les leçons suivantes explorent les menaces traditionnelles ainsi que les nouvelles menaces, y compris les groupes extrémistes comme EEIS/ISIL, la violence sexuelle dans les conflits armés et la protection des enfants. Cette édition mise à jour intègre la Politique 2015 sur la protection des civils dans les opérations de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies et examine les missions lancées depuis 2012, y compris la MINUSMA et la MINUSCA. Sept leçons.

AUTEUR DU COURS : M. Julian Harston est un Sous-secrétaire général des Nations Unies à la retraite, ayant précédemment exercé la fonction de Représentant du Secrétaire général à Belgrade, en Serbie, en 2009 ainsi que Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général auprès de la MINURSO, Sahara occidental de 2007 à 2009. Actuellement, M. Harston est un consultant indépendant sur les questions relatives à la paix et la sécurité internationales. Il enseigne également à l’école de l’OTAN d’Oberammergau, en Allemagne et à l’Institut diplomatique polonais à Varsovie, en Pologne.

Number of pages: 155 [French]

Publisher: Peace Operations Training Institute [03-10-17]

Search inside this course (PDF)

Formats Available

Online Training: $60.00 USD

Online Training + Printed textbook: $75.00 USD
(Shipping costs not included.)

Log in to register.

Ratings

4.86 Stars

Reviews submitted: 218

Sample pictures from the course:

Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.
Protection of Civilians course image.

Read what other students have said about the course after completing it...

( Page 1 of 44 ) Next

5 Stars

"I am very satisfied with the dynamics of the course. Excellent material. I would consult the possibility of handouts being made available in Portuguese for study and to serve as consultations in the future."

Submitted By:

Date Submitted: Mon 21 Sep 2020

5 Stars

"Very usef"

Submitted By:

Date Submitted: Mon 14 Sep 2020

5 Stars

"The course is comprehensive and very informative."

Submitted By:

Date Submitted: Tue 01 Sep 2020

5 Stars

"excellent"

Submitted By:

Date Submitted: Sun 30 Aug 2020

5 Stars

"Question pattern"

Submitted By:

Date Submitted: Sat 29 Aug 2020

( Page 1 of 44 ) Next

*Student reviews can only be submitted by a student after completing the course. Student reviews represent the combined opinions of the English version and all translated versions of the course.